State Inspections & Emissions in Pennsylvania

State Emissions Inspection Pennsylvania

If you’ve lived in the region for very long, you know that state vehicle inspections are mandated by law in Pennsylvania. These inspections are stringent and strict, and cover inspection items that include

  • Lights
  • Glass
  • Brakes
  • Tires
  • Wipers
  • Horn
  • Exhaust
  • And much more 
Your vehicle needs to be in good shape to keep you and other drivers safe on the roads, and we’re committed to doing thorough and complete inspections on every vehicle that comes through at inspection time.

A newer program with many states is emissions testing. Modern vehicles use a computer and a network of smaller processors and sensors to govern fuel delivery, ignition timing, transmission shift points and other drivability functions. The computer picks up readings from all the sensors throughout the drivetrain, and if any sensor sends information that is outside of norms, it’s registered as a trouble code in the computer and the Check Engine light is illuminated.

Emissions control is a big part of this technology package as well;  the computer and sensors monitor the composition of the exhaust gasses as they flow through the engine and exhaust stream. At one time, emissions testing used a “tailpipe sniffer” device to analyze exhaust gasses; newer systems, however, can just plug straight into the engine computer to check for any trouble codes that are emissions-related.

NOTE: vehicles manufactured before model year 1996 used a different industry-standard engine management system. As a result, emissions standards for pre-1996 vehicles are different. Even with these older vehicles and different emissions requirements, though, any problems with sensors or relays will need to be addressed if they affect emissions.

If your vehicle isn’t in compliance with either emissions or safety inspections, we can’t approve it and issue a sticker. The good news is, if you can get the problems fixed within a 30-day window, we can waive the fee for a second inspection. Past the 30-day period, a second inspection fee will be required. Also, remember to bring your current registration and proof of insurance when inspection time comes around!